1641 Depositions. County Tipperary. IE TCD MS 821, folios 101-200 Public Deposited

1641 Depositions. County Tipperary. IE TCD MS 821, folios 101-200

Alternative title
  • Black books. County Tipperary
  • Books of discrimination. County Tipperary
Shelf Mark/Reference Number
  • IE TCD MS 821, folios 101-200
Rights statement
  • Copyright The Board of Trinity College Dublin. Images are available for single-use academic application only. Publication, transmission or display is prohibited without formal written approval of the Library of Trinity College, Dublin.
Copyright note
Publisher location
  • Ireland
Date Created
  • between approximately 1641-1643
Physical extent
  • folios 101-200
  • [1] IE TCD MS 821, folios 101-200. IE TCD MS 821 is a volume of 1641 Depositions made in County Tipperary. See the attached spreadsheet for further folio-specific details, including deponent names and transcriptions of their depositions. On folio [ii]r is header: 'Depositions concerning murders & robberies comitted in the County of Tipperary'. The 1641 Depositions comprise over 3,000 personal statements or 'depositions' of Protestant men and women of all classes, made following the outbreak of the rebellion by the Catholic Irish in October 1641. This material was collected by special commissioners between 1641 and the end of the war in 1654, and was used as evidence in the subsequent trials of rebellion leaders. The Depositions constitute the chief evidence for the contested allegation that the 1641 rebellion began with a general massacre of Protestant settlers. The 1641 Depositions are the papers of Rev. Dr. Henry Jones and seven other clergy who were instructed to record the losses and experiences of 'despoiled Protestants' by successive commissions of 23 December 1641, 18 January 1642 and 9 June 1642, together with copies of many of them made by their clerk, Thomas Waring, in the late 1640s; the papers of Rev Philip Bysse, who received a commission to collect similar information in Munster on 5 March 1642; and the papers of a second set of commissioners appointed in 1652 to collect evidence of atrocities and undertake the prosecution of offenders. The separate collections were brought together in the 1650s, initially to facilitate legal proceedings, but subsequently to provide information about the degrees of guilt of Catholic landholders who were being transplanted to Connacht. At that stage, they were called 'the books of discrimination' or 'the black books'. In later years they have been variously known as 'Henry Jones' papers', 'Barry's papers' (after Matthew Barry, the clerk of the Council who had custody of them after 1660) but they are mostly referred to as 'The 1641 Depositions'. [2] Depositions in this section of IE TCD MS 821 are as follows: Fols.101r-101v: William Moore; 1643-02-15. Fols.102r-102v: Walter Nesse; 1642-07-01. Fols.103r-103v: Henry Newman. Fols.104r-104v: Walter Penwarder; 1642-08-20. Fols.105r-106v: Clement Dobson; 1642-11-30. Fols.107r-108v: Alexander Yonge; 1642-08-03. Fols.109r-110v: Katherine Thomas; 1642-05-17. Fols.111r-111v: John Tyute; 1642-07-23. Fols.112r-112v: Thomas Wills; 1642-11-17. Fols.113r-113v: Redigan Blanchett; 1642-05-25. Fols.114r-114v: Robert Longden; 1642-12-16. Fols.115r-116v: Richard White; 1642-12-16. Fols.117r-117v: William Hunt; 1642-06-03. Fols.118r-119v: William Cock; 1642-11-00. Fols.120r-120v: Giles and Barbary Powell ex parte Robert Powell; 1642-12-15. Fols.121r-121v: Giles Powell; 1642-12-15. Fols.122r-122v: Richard Sheapheard; 1642-06-07. Fols.123r-123v: Arthure Thomas; 1642-12-16. Fols.124r-124v: George Penwarne; 1642-08-19. Fols.125r-125v: John Lobb; 1642-12-17. Fols.126r-126v: Thomas Turner; 1642-12-16. Fols.127r-127v: William Davis; 1642-12-16. Fols.128r-128v: Symon Sloper; 1642-08-19. Fols.129r-129v: Andrew Hayes; 1642-05-26. Fols.130r-131v: Dame Charity Dodswoorth, John Waterton and Ingram Stones ex parte Sir Edward Dodswoorth; 1642-05-26. Fols.133r-133v: William Masters; 1642-06-08. Fols.134r-134v: Zadrach Buttevant. Fols.135r-135v: Jeffry Power; 1642-08-19. Fols.136r-136v: Henry Pope and Thomas Colman; 1643-03-13. Fols.138r-138r: Thomas Pope and Henry Pope; 1643-03-13. Fols.139r-139v: George Carter; 1642-08-23. Fols.140r-140v: Robert Thorn; 1642-03-18. Fols.141r-141v: Phillis Frost. Fols.143r-143v: Anthony Farmer; 1642-06-16. Fols.144r-144v: John Streete; 1642-05-26. Fols.145r-145v: Edward Hacklett; 1642-12-19. Fols.146r-146v: John Downeinge; 1642-06-03. Fols.147r-147v: John Fox; 1642-12-16. Fols.148r-148v: John Harrisson; 1642-12-16. Fols.149r-150v: William Goome; 1642-05-14. Fols.151r-151v: Roberte Murdoe; 1642-08-12. Fols.152r-152v: Jane Wilshiere; 1643-03-18. Fols.153r-154v: Elizabeth Nelson; 1642-12-16. Fols.155r-156v: Robert Thorn; 1643-03-18. Fols.157r-158v: Anthony Dowdall; 1642-10-26. Fols.159r-159v: Annabel Obere; 1642-05-26. Fols.160r-160v: Henry Pope and Thomas Colman; 1643-03-13. Fols.161r-161v: Jane Collins; 1642-07-27. Fols.162r-162v: James Hill; 1642-08-15. Fols.163r-163v: John Jones; 1642-12-15. Fols.164r-164v: Peter Floyd; 1642-08-23. Fols.165r-166v: George Carter; 1642-08-23. Fols.167r-168v: Thomas Pope; 1643-03-13. Fols.169r-170v: Ann Baker; 1642-07-08. Fols.171r-171v: Thomas Coolman; 1643-03-19. Fols.172r-172v: Edmond Pearse; 1642-05-24. Fols.173r-173v: Thomas Dobbs; 1642-11-17. Fols.174r-174v: William Rider; 1642-11-17. Fols.175r-175v: William Tomlinson; 1642-11-17. Fols.176r-176v: John Harford; 1642-06-17. Fols.177r-177v: Euen Tidder; 1642-08-06. Fols.178r-178v: Anthony Hodgskins; 1643-03-30. Fols.179r-179v: Anthony Hodgskins and Anthony Hodgskins; 1643-03-29. Fols.180r-180v: Lidia Colquite; 1643-08-01. Fols.181r-181v: Ann Sherring; 1644-02-10. Fols.182r-182v: Henry Newman; 1643-04-05. Fols.183r-183v: George Tirry and Walter Cooke; 1643-04-13. Fols.184r-184v: Christian Jones; 1643-04-05. Fols.185r-185v: Phillis Frost; 1643-06-23. Fols.186r-186v: George Tirry; 1643-04-18. Fols.187r-196v: William Timmes; 1646-03-05. Fols.197r-199v: John Powell; 1645-07-15. Fols.200r-201v: Gavan Barklie; 1646-09-29.
  • The Depositions were imaged in 2009 by Eneclann as part of the 1641 Depositions Project, a collaborative project between Trinity College Dublin, the University of Aberdeen, and the University of Cambridge, in partnership with IBM LanguageWare and Eneclann. The principal investigators on the project were Prof. Jane Ohlmeyer, Prof. Thomas Bartlett, Prof. Micheal O Siochru, and Prof. John Morrill. The transcriptions were edited by Prof. Aidan Clarke. The researchers on the project were Dr. Edda Frankot, Dr. Annaleigh Margey, and Dr. Elaine Murphy. For the historical background of the depositions, guidance on use, browsing, and advanced search facilities see the dedicated 1641 Depositions website:
Related url
Collection title
  • 1641 Depositions
Finding aid
Resource type
  • ink
  • paper (fiber product)
Digital Object Id
  • MS821_212
  • b203573924


Parent works and subseries: